Long Island GOP Retain All 9 State Senate Seats

Assemb. Phil Boyle

New York State Assemb. Phil Boyle (R-Bay Shore) beat out Suffolk County Legis. Rick Montano for Sen. Owen Johnson’s state Senate seat. (Spencer Rumsey/Long Island Press)

Long Island remains red—in the New York State Senate, that is.

Republicans held on to all nine state senate seats on LI with eight sitting GOP senators winning re-election and Assemblyman Phil Boyle (R-Bay Shore) claiming the only open local seat in the election, left vacant by state Sen. Owen Johnson (R-West Babylon), who is retiring at year’s end.


The hotly contested Senate race between Boyle and his Democratic opponent, Suffolk County Legis. Rick Montano (D-Central Islip), was the most celebrated victory among Suffolk Republicans at their Election Day bash in Patchogue.

“I want to thank everyone for all the hard work you did,” Boyle told the exuberant crowd as he greeted his supporters Tuesday night. “There are a lot of people out there hurting,” added Boyle, referring to the victims of Superstorm Sandy. “We can have a good time tonight, but first thing in the morning we’re going to roll up our sleeves and get to work.”

As politicos all over LI were celebrating the festivities into the wee hours Wednesday, more than 150,000 Long Island Power Authority customers were still sitting in the dark as temperatures continued to dip to bone-chilling temperatures and a nor’easter approached the Island.

Republicans and Democrats claimed to have won the majority in the state Senate and legal challenges are expected. Some LI races turned out closer than their supporters would have liked. Results remain unofficial until all absentee ballots are counted.

State Sen. Kemp Hannon (R-Garden City) won his 14th term over Democrat Ryan Cronin, 52 to 48 percent. State Sen. Jack Martins (R-Mineola) beat Democrat Daniel Ross with a 52-to-48-percent victory.

There were also some drubbings Tuesday night.

Sen. Carl Marcellino (R-Syosset) won handedly over Democrat David Wright, 61 to 39 percent. Sen. John Flanagan (R-Smithtown) won 68 to 32 percent over Errol D Toulon Jr, who suspended his campaign after taking up a position in Suffolk County Executive Steve Bellone’s administration.

Sen. Ken LaValle (R-Stony Brook) also reclaimed his seat, garnering more than 60 percent of the votes over Democratic Southampton Town Councilwoman Bridget Fleming.

Sen. Lee Zeldin (R-Shirley) won a second term in office with 56 to 44 percent over Democrat Francis Genco and Sen. Charles Fuschillo Jr. (R-Merrick) also held on to his seat and will be entering his eighth term in the Senate, beating Democrat Carol Gordon.

Senate Majority Leader Dean Skelos (R-Rockville Centre) won by a nearly 20-percent margin.

Leave a Comment

Please use the comment box below for general comments, but if you feel we have made a mistake, typo, or egregious error, let us know about it. Click here to "call us out." We're happy to listen to your concerns.